IMS Consultancy


A common definition of Integrated Management System (IMS) is the integration of ISO 9001, ISO 14001 and ISO 45001. Of course, there could be other combinations, such as ISO 9001 + HACCP.

Herebelow introduces the integration service of ISO 9001, ISO 14001 and ISO 45001.

ISO 9001 : Quality Management Systems - Requirements

ISO 9001 is the international standard for Quality Management Systems. It is published by the International Organization for Standardization (ISO) and it defines the essential elements to be complied by an organization in regard to quality. It focuses on management of a company's business in meeting quality requirements such as those specified by the client and the government bodies. It also requires organizations to set quality policy and objectives, to measure customer satisfaction and to continually improve its quality management system.

ISO 14001 : Environmental Management Systems - Specification with Guidance for Use

To save the environment we live, we need to protect it by ensuring that the product we produce and the activities we perform will not damage the environment in short or long term. ISO 14001 is also published by ISO in Geneva. It provides a framework to establish an effective environmental management system for ensuring environmental considerations are well managed. It also motivates continual improvement which is not only driven by customer expectations but also by business priorities and objectives generated internally by organizations.

ISO 45001 : Occupational Health and Safety Management Systems - Specification

Health and Safety is an issue which attracts much attention nowadays. It applies to workers in the construction site, manufacturing plants and shipyards etc. and also to staffs in offices. ISO 45001 is published by the British Standards Institution together with a number of other reputable bodies. Risk Assessment is essential as the starting point of implementing an OHSAS 18001 System. Results of Risk Assessment shall be followed by a series of control processes to mitigate the risks. Emergency response is a key element of the standard and the response plan shall be tested to ensure it works. Besides, ISO 45001 also requires the implementation of other management system elements such as document control, management review and internal auditing.

IMS : Integrated Management System

By implementing the above, we see a trend for integration of various management systems. It is a fact that many common elements exist in the standards mentioned above. Cost saving in implementation, maintenance and certification turns out to be substantial. Many companies start with the implementation of ISO 9001 QMS and then merge/integrate other systems phase by phase.

Consultancy service for any of these standards is similar and consists of six stages as shown below. Should you be interested in any one, kindly please give us a reply.

Six Typical Stages for IMS Consultancy :

  • Stage 1 : initial system review + awareness training
  • Stage 2 : documentation
  • Stage 3 : system implementation
  • Stage 4 : internal audit
  • Stage 5 : pre-audit
  • Stage 6 : certification audit (two stages)